An Introduction

Welcome to my new blog, Hey Christian!

Following is a little background on me and on how this blog came to be.

I was born into a family of faith and raised in church giving me a strong foundation in Christianity. I thought I knew all about Jesus and what was expected of me as a believer.  Somewhere along the line, I realized that a believer and a follower were two entirely different things.  My natural desire to learn and grow became more focused on my faith and, more specifically, on Jesus.  I learned much from my church, my mentors, my friends, and a whole bunch of reading over the last 17 years. All of this prepared me for the journey of the past two years or so.

A little over two years ago a guest speaker at my church challenged us to read and study just the four Gospels for a year, paying specific attention to what Jesus actually said and did.  This has become a life altering experience.  It has been a journey of learning and unlearning many things and of separating religion from following Jesus.  I am continually asking myself in both a philosophical and situational way, “Do I really believe what I say I believe?” Further, if I do, do my choices, decisions and actions reflect that?

I feel compelled to write this blog both to share what I’ve learned and what I am still processing.

Your comments will always be welcome and appreciated.  I enjoy sarcasm since I tend to lean in that direction but personal attacks or general meanness is not acceptable and will be deleted.

Special thanks to my friends Barbi, Linda and Shane for your encouragement help and wisdom as I begin this journey of words.

Look for my first post early next week.

2 thoughts on “An Introduction

Leave a Reply

